Inuktitut – ALA-LC transliteration system

To Canadian Aboriginal Syllabics To Latin script Copy
Commercial links

Inuktitut virtual keyboard

The Inuktitut virtual keyboard allows you to enter characters with a click of your mouse. There’s no need to change your keyboard layout anymore. The transliteration of each supported character is displayed on the right side of the character. You can then directly transliterate your text from one script to the other according to the selected transliteration system.

Transliteration system: ALA-LC

ALA-LC is a set of standards for the romanization, or representation of texts in other writing systems using the Latin alphabet. This label includes the initials of the American Library Association (ALA) and the Library of Congress (LC). This system is used to represent bibliographic names by North American libraries and the British Library, as well as in publications throughout the English-speaking world.

Specific rules

  • As the Canadian Aboriginal Syllabics system does not present any distinction between lower and upper case, the first letter of the first word of each sentence is artificially rendered as a capital letter when transliterated in Latin alphabet.
  • The characters ᕴ (hai), ᕵ (hi), ᕷ (hu), ᕹ (ha), and ᕻ (h) are used in the Nunavik region of Québec.
  • The character ᕼ (h) is used in the territory of Nunavut.
  • A long vowel is represented in syllabics by a superscript dot, in romanization by doubling the letter (for example, ᓈᓃᑦ naaniit; ᑰᔾᔪᐊᖅ Kuujjuaq).
  • A circle over a character converts the vowel from i to aai (for example, ᐂᓵᒃ Aaisaak).

Other transliteration system for Inuktitut

The other currently supported transliteration system for Inuktitut is Canadian Aboriginal Syllabics.


The Language of the Inuit: Syntax, Semantics, and Society in the Arctic The Language of the Inuit: Syntax, Semantics, and Society in the Arctic
by , editors McGill-Queen’s University Press (2010)
[, Kindle - Kindle -]

Eskimo Grammar Eskimo Grammar
by , editors Laurier Books (1997)

Inuktitut links

Other supported languages

The other supported languages are: Abkhaz, Adyghe, Altai, Armenian (eastern, classical), Armenian (western), Azerbaijani (Azeri), Bashkir, Belarusian, Bulgarian, Carrier, Cherokee, Chuvash, Erzya, Georgian, Greek, Ingush, Japanese, Kazakh, Kyrgyz, Macedonian, Moldovan, Old Church Slavonic, Ossetian, Russian, Serbian, Tamazight, Tigrinya, Udmurt, Ukrainian, Vai, and Yakut.