Altai – ISO 9 transliteration system

To Cyrillic script To Latin script Copy
Commercial links

Altai virtual keyboard

The Altai virtual keyboard allows you to enter characters with a click of your mouse. There’s no need to change your keyboard layout anymore. The transliteration of each supported character is displayed on the right side of the character. You can then directly transliterate your text from one script to the other according to the selected transliteration system.

Language overview

Altai (алтайдыҥ тил), also known as Gorno-Altai, is a Siberian Turkic language from the Turkic language family. Official language in the Altai Republic of Russia, it counts about 56,000 speakers. The Altai language is written in a variation of the Cyrillic script, which last form dates from 1944. It has been written in the Latin alphabet between 1928 and 1938. The former name of the language was Oyrot (ойрот) prior to 1948.

Transliteration system: ISO 9

The international standard ISO 9 establishes a system for the transliteration into Latin characters of Cyrillic characters constituting the alphabets of many Slavic and some non-Slavic languages. This system is univocal, as one character is represented by one equivalent character (by the use of diacritics), which represents the original spelling and allows for reverse transliteration (or retroconversion). The first versions of the standard were based on the scholarly system, but the latest version, ISO:1995, emphasizes the unambiguity of the transliteration instead of the phonemic representation.

Other transliteration systems for Altai

The other currently supported transliteration systems for Altai are: ALA-LC, and Allworth.

Other supported languages

The other supported languages are: Abkhaz, Adyghe, Armenian (eastern, classical), Armenian (western), Azerbaijani (Azeri), Bashkir, Belarusian, Bulgarian, Carrier, Cherokee, Chuvash, Erzya, Georgian, Greek, Ingush, Inuktitut, Japanese, Kazakh, Kyrgyz, Macedonian, Moldovan, Old Church Slavonic, Ossetian, Russian, Serbian, Tamazight, Tigrinya, Udmurt, Ukrainian, Vai, and Yakut.