Abkhaz – ISO 9 transliteration system

To Cyrillic script To Latin script Copy
Commercial links

Abkhaz virtual keyboard

The Abkhaz virtual keyboard allows you to enter characters with a click of your mouse. There’s no need to change your keyboard layout anymore. The transliteration of each supported character is displayed on the right side of the character. You can then directly transliterate your text from one script to the other according to the selected transliteration system.

Language overview

Abkhaz (аҧсуа бызшәа) belongs to the Abazgi group of the Northwest Caucasian languages family. Official language in the Republic of Abkhazia, located in northwestern Georgia, alongside Russian, it counts about 110,000 speakers. The Abkhaz language is written in a variation of the Cyrillic script since 1954 that counts 62 letters, including the digraphs.

Transliteration system: ISO 9

The international standard ISO 9 establishes a system for the transliteration into Latin characters of Cyrillic characters constituting the alphabets of many Slavic and some non-Slavic languages. This system is univocal, as one character is represented by one equivalent character (by the use of diacritics), which represents the original spelling and allows for reverse transliteration (or retroconversion). The first versions of the standard were based on the scholarly system, but the latest version, ISO:1995, emphasizes the unambiguity of the transliteration instead of the phonemic representation.

Other transliteration systems for Abkhaz

The other currently supported transliteration systems for Abkhaz are: ALA-LC, BGN/PCGN, and TITUS.


Parlons abkhaze : Une langue du Caucase Parlons abkhaze : Une langue du Caucase
by , editors L’Harmattan (2014)
[Amazon.com Amazon.com]

Other supported languages

The other supported languages are: Adyghe, Altai, Armenian (eastern, classical), Armenian (western), Azerbaijani (Azeri), Bashkir, Belarusian, Bulgarian, Carrier, Cherokee, Chuvash, Erzya, Georgian, Greek, Ingush, Inuktitut, Japanese, Kazakh, Kyrgyz, Macedonian, Moldovan, Old Church Slavonic, Ossetian, Russian, Serbian, Tamazight, Tigrinya, Udmurt, Ukrainian, Vai, and Yakut.